365 Days of Poetry: Day Two-Hundred and Sixty-Three

one cannot force the end.
I tried, and while the blood is sweet.
he would not be better off.
and I realized it in time.

these things outside myself don’t matter.
as much as I would like, because.
fixing a life of hatred.
is not an easy thing.

I have no will to be selfish.
the path was not mine.
but I took it anyway.
this corner seemed too penned in.

repent, and show me mercy,
please. I will take more pain but,
he cannot live well.
if I am gone.

About June Faramore

Writer of fantasy, mainstream, and young adult fiction. Poet and sketcher. Mother. I read a lot and love cheese. Guitar playing singer-songwriter. I also enjoy stepping on the cracks in the sidewalk. View all posts by June Faramore

One response to “365 Days of Poetry: Day Two-Hundred and Sixty-Three

  • Faith

    There’s often a line that reaches out and grabs my heart. This is the line for this poem.

    fixing a life of hatred.
    is not an easy thing.

    I sigh with understanding.
    Faith

this side, that side

