365 Days of Poetry: Day Fifty-Five

Not a new one today, because I am going through old stuff and want to share this one.

 

I watched them
with you
strong and supple gymnasts
lithe and free in their movements
as I never was.

I know I’ve been
a disappointment to you
Mother
I feel your disapproving stare
across the miles.

You wanted a lithe little girl
who danced
and ate with grace
who never complained
no steps out of place.

I won’t be your martyr
anymore
this score you want
to settle with the world
is not my battle
is not my way
is not my place.

I observe the dance
and write about it.
I observe your pain
and write about it.
I dance in the rain
and write about it.
I lose my pain
and write about it.

Through it all
I feel
your stare
because
lithe
supple
dancing
is not my talent.

About June Faramore

Writer of fantasy, mainstream, and young adult fiction. Poet and sketcher. Mother. I read a lot and love cheese. Guitar playing singer-songwriter. I also enjoy stepping on the cracks in the sidewalk. View all posts by June Faramore

this side, that side

